Governance Structures

Governance Structures


Government of CIS is both personal and collegial. The Chancellor, who is the Archbishop of Sydney, fosters the Catholic Institute of Sydney, promotes its progress and safe-guards its legitimate autonomy within the local and universal Church. He presides at meetings of the Senate. This body is responsible for the ordinary government of the Catholic Institute of Sydney and promotes its vitality. The President is the chief academic and administrative officer of CIS. His functions include fostering the unity and progress of the Institute, encouraging initiative in teaching and research, and conducting the ordinary administration of CIS. The Academic Board monitors the academic affairs of the Institute and determines the courses to be offered. Its meetings are chaired by the Academic Dean who is responsible for the academic programmes of CIS.



Most Rev. Anthony Fisher op (Chancellor)

Most Rev. Richard Umbers  (Deputy Chancellor)

Prof. Sr Isabell Naumann issm (President) 

Dr. Rohan Curnow (Academic Dean)

Fr. Danny Meagher  (Rector of the Seminary of the Good Shepherd)

Fr. Eric Skruzny (Rector of Redemptoris Mater Seminary)

Prof. Hayden Ramsay (Experience in higher education administration)

Mr. Michael Moore (Archdiocesan Chancery; Chair, CIS Finance Committee; experience in financial matters)

Rev. Dr. John Flader (expertise in canon law)

Mr. Terence Tobin QC (expertise in civil law)

Dr. John Francis Collins (Faculty Representative)

Mr. Michael Lilley (Student Representative) 

Fr. Dave Austin osa (elected by rectors of seminaries and houses of formation other than major Seminaries of Archdiocese of Sydney)