Master of Arts




Course Title
Master of Arts (CRICOS: 063708J)

AQF Level
AQF 9 – Masters Degree


Entrance Requirements
Category 1: an AQF 8 award in theology
Category 2: an AQF 7 award in theology

Course Duration
Category 1: 1 year full-time or 3 years part-time
Category 2: 1.5 years full-time or 4.5 years part-time

Course Structure
Category 1: 72 credit points (8 course units) at AQF 8 or AQF 9 level (8500 or 9600 series)
Category 2: 108 credit points (12 course units) at AQF 8 or AQF 9 level (8500 or 9600 series)

  • Unit content may not be similar to that of units undertaken previously, e.g., in a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Theology
  • The Master of Arts may be taken with or without specialization
  • A specialisation comprises six units (54 credit points) in a sub-discipline including at least two course units (18 credit points) at 9600 level

Sub-Disciplines: Biblical Studies, Christian Ethics, Christian Spirituality, Church History, Mission, Pastoral Counselling, Pastoral Theology, Philosophy, Theology, Worship and Liturgy.

Graduate Rationale
The Master of Arts is a coursework program designed for graduates who hold a tertiary qualification in a theological discipline, who wish to pursue a graduate qualification in theology as part of their continuing education for ministry. It is designed to provide a graduate-level education in biblical and theological understanding, spiritual formation, and cultural literacy that will prepare them for ordained or other ministry in church, para-church or non-profit organizations, and other vocational settings.

Articulation to Other SCD Awards
Students are eligible to articulate to the Master of Philosophy offered by the Sydney College of Divinity provided they meet the entry requirements (including undertaking a specified research component within the Master of Arts).

Official SCD Regulations for the MA